What is the difference between Modify and Repair in the ArtiosCAD installer? When would I use Modify and when would I user Repair?
After ArtiosCAD has been installed on a computer, the ArtiosCAD installation program can be rerun from the original ArtiosCAD installation media or by selecting its entry and choosing Change in the Programs and Features Control Panel applet. When the ArtiosCAD installation program is rerun, you are presented with a dialog that gives you three options: Modify, Repair and Remove.
These options can be used to perform one of the three Maintenance tasks on the ArtiosCAD installation:
Modify - This is used when you want to change some aspect of your ArtiosCAD installation, such as the features that are installed. This choice will not repair parts of ArtiosCAD that are already on the system, e.g.: if the ArtiosCAD programs are already installed, it will not replace a missing shortcut.
Repair - This is used when there is something wrong with the ArtiosCAD installation, such as the shortcut to the ArtiosCAD program is no longer there. No changes can be made to the ArtiosCAD configuration. You can also perform this task by selecting the ArtiosCAD installation in the Program and Features Control Panel applet and selecting Repair.
Remove - This is used when you want to remove ArtiosCAD from your computer. You can also perform this task by selecting the ArtiosCAD installation in the Program and Features Control Panel applet and selecting Uninstall.
There are several parts of the ArtiosCAD installation that you can change with Modify, including:
Whether you are using a Local License or a Network License.
For Network Licenses, the license server can be specified or changed.
Various ArtiosCAD features can be installed or uninstalled separately:
The ArtiosCAD Configuration servers (Defaults, Database).
The ArtiosCAD programs and ArtiosCAD 3D Data Exchange.
The Esko Configuration Manager.
The Database Authentication Method can be changed.
The system can be changed from a client to a server or vice versa.
The server for a client system can be changed or set.
A standalone system can be changed to a client or a server or vice versa.
The User files folder can be changed.
As stated above, only the changes requested will be carried out. All other parts of the ArtiosCAD installation that were not changed through the installation wizard will remain the same. No repairs of already loaded functionality will be carried out.
Repair is used when something is wrong with the ArtiosCAD installation. The problems that a Repair will solve include:
Missing or corrupted files, e.g.: trying to start ArtiosCAD and getting a message "The program can't start because dlp.dll is missing from your computer".
Missing shortcuts, e.g.: the ArtiosCAD shortcut is no longer on your desktop or in the Start menu.
Missing registry entries, e.g.: trying to start ArtiosCAD and getting a message like the one below:
The environment variable GUIROOTDIR is not defined. Define it in the
Repair can also be used to re-register CAD-X for the version you are running the installation for. This can be used, e.g., if you have run an ArtiosCAD 12.1.1 installation, but prefer that the CAD-X that is run be an earlier installed ArtiosCAD 12.1.
As stated above, Repairing ArtiosCAD will not allow any changes to be made to the configuration. It is only used to fix what is currently installed on the system, in the configuration that it is currently installed.