This article describes an issue where a Project Manager receives Approval Notifications for Projects assigned to a different Project Manager of which he/she is not even a member.
Following symptoms occur:
A Project Manager User receives Approval Notifications for Projects where he/she is not even a member.
In the Template that was used to create the Projects, the Approval Master is set to Me.
The Project Manager receiving the Notifications was the original PM of the Template.
In case the Project Manager receiving the Notifications was the original PM of the Template, the Approval Cycle was set up with Approval Master set to "Me" and the Projects are created with another Project Manager, this issue can occur.
Since WebCenter 14.1.1, there will be a warning with the message "The Approval Master User is no longer a member of this Project or might have lost permission to view the Document". But the behavior is still the same.
To resolve the issue, the Approval Master in the Template needs to be set to "Project Manager" and not "Me". This will prevent more problems in the future.
Projects already created from the Template will continue to send Notifications, for these Projects the Approval Setup needs to be changed manually.